Going On The Account: Samhain My Oats Tonight…

For those who may have missed all the plastic pumpkins and folks dressed weirdly around the neighborhood either rolling with their kids or rolling into bars, Happy Halloween.

It doesn’t feel entirely real this year, considering we missed last year’s due to unfortunate circumstances, and the year before there was a freak snowstorm.  I had to be reminded about the snowstorm, because a little snow in October if you’re not from Erie County versus being slammed by a hurricane, the later always trumps, but anyway…

I wasn’t quite as into the spirit as I should or could have been.  A few folks around me had on costumes, and I had to improvise by declaring that I was going as a member of Anonymous, which yes, sounds as lame aloud as it just did when you read it.  And if I tried to do the Village Halloween Parade with that, I would be in real trouble; the last time I went, I was doing a full-on Dracula-via-Lugosi gear, and some schmuck doing Freddie Krueger decided to rake my face with his plastic claws.  No physical harm done, but on top of a nigth the crowds were too deep to get close to the parade or into the bars it just added a chocolate coating to this crap sundae.  Even now, I still would love to hunt down and eviscerate the stupid fuc-

Buuuut, anyway…

To make it more so detached from feeling it, there are signs that the Trick-or-Treaters are going elsewhere tonight.  Usually our residence has a sign-up sheet so that the ghouls and goblins know where they can go for their tricks; this year, not a lot of folks looking to goblin’ anything sweet signed up, which means we have a lot of candy that’s going to go to waist…

Yes, that spelling was intentional; give me a choice on what to binge on, I’d rather my sugars were liquid and fermented than in solid portions marked “Fun Sized” on the wrapper.  The end result is the same in the end, regardless, with a few pounds more ballast to heft at the end…

So here I am, a few years removed from doing a proper Embrace of the Darkness like I used to, at home, the only person here who’s actually enthused enough to want to put on a holiday-appropriate movie; I’m vacillating between The Wicker Man (the original),  The ShiningThe Last Man on Earth, and Crucible of Terror.  The alternative is to watch some tigers eviscerate some sea mammals; the way I just said it is a lot more holiday-appropriate than what it actually is…

I just wish I could feel it more intently.  I would love to get all into a party place like…

But tonight, I feel a lot more like…

Or I should just shut up and write…

One thought on “Going On The Account: Samhain My Oats Tonight…

  1. I got your pun about the candy going to waist, as we had a whole box left over after the Halloween rush. Our neighborhood is aging so there’s much less in the way of trick-or-treaters arriving at our door each year than when our kids were little. Elaborate costuming is not really my thing, either, although I will wear spider earrings or a blinking ghost necklace to appeal to the wee ones who come to the door. I remember my mom dressing up and playing tricks on the neighbors. She really embraced Halloween & often had dress-up parties. I did, too, when I was younger. Maybe the spirit will move me to embrace it more as the Grandson gets older. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment