Going On The Account: With Powder Ready To Light

There are worse ways to waste time when you should be writing.  I know, I’ve done a lot of them; those endless games of Civilization: Call to Power, for example…

 

 

So what’s my excuse if Red Jenny’s finale somehow ends up delayed?  (Which is probably a concern for only a handful of you actually reading it, but I digress…)

 

Well, for the first time, I actually took the bait for this week’s io9’s Concept Art Writing Prompt.  And it was a nice distraction that kept me from putting the final polish on the current novel and delayed the inevitable wrap up, one more thing to keep me from finally turning off te lights over the waters of Lake Erie.

 

And as I did it and threw in a jazz reference to the piece, I had an insight, about how writers now have a chance (or at least a much better one than our for-bearers did) to do what musicians have done over the years:  To participate in the jam session.

For those who’ve never hung around musicians and had illusions of being one, the jam is when people with an inclination just get together, pull out their instruments or start singing and see what happens.  Sometimes, it can be glorious, and you get bands together from these moments when you share your stuff with your peers.  And then, there’s those endless hours of the “Get Back” sessions, where the output was a lot less than the sum…

 

I suppose I should be thankful to have as many chances to do literary jams as this age allows, and recommend that if you get a chance to just rift with a groove like Miles Davis if you get it, that you just go for it.

 

 

 

In fact, I should ask any of you reading and willing to speak up:  If I offered a chance to rift here, would you take it?  If I threw you a note and a theme, might you go for it?  And if not, because you know a better gig where it’s more copacetic and the vibe’s smoother, can you drop me a dime on it?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

