Going On The Account: Blogtober – Tooled Up

Blogtober, Day Twenty Four, and the hits keep right on coming.  I wish a few when they came would actually land somewhere near the target, but…

What I need is something that will help me target my writing better, something that gives me the means to get the pieces read by people, make them want to pass it along, spread my words like a pathogen infecting a population.

What I need now is, I need some kind of tool.  Had it not been for the tools I’ve had access to, I’d not have gotten this far, so why stop using them now…?

I did say earlier on that I would discuss having gotten a tablet recently.  For me, getting one required a bit of luck, the same product relied upon by all writers, entertainers, gamblers, criminals, and other such so dependent on it.  Without getting into too many embarrassing details,  Fortuna showed up like the host of Dialing for Dollars  calling my number, and I was able to give her the right answer when she asked.

(Yeah, I’m dating myself here, though the fact that the show gets name checked in Janis Joplin’s “Mercedes Benz” which I have done a capaella for a happy audience a few times, gives it a personal resonance with me; if you ever want to catch me sing, it’s usually part of my gig…)

How I ended up with it is not as important as what happened afterwards; there were suddenly a host of new options as far as my work flow and practices were concerned.  Whole new options, opening whole new vistas:

14th Street Station, IRT (4,5,6 Lines)

(Just imagine what kind of complete pain-in-the-ass I could turn into if I got a more serious camera…)

So, if I haven’t bored you away by now, the question you might be asking is, how did it make me feel having this?

As pleased as the last few times I had a new innovation to assist me:

There was the time I got a modem to hook up to the computer, which suddenly turned the box on my desk from a self-contained unit into a gateway to a wider world.

(And if you’re asking, “Wait, an external modem, what…?” then yes, I am dating myself yet again…)

There was the time I got the computer itself, which suddenly made the process so much easier when it came time to compile drafts, correct texts and do some of the spit and polish needed when you write.

And before that, getting my own typewriter, which meant not only was my output now legible, but it got finished way faster.

Stop asking just how old I am, you!

The main point here isn’t how I adopt to hardware, but the impressions gleamed from having had access to new tools that assist with the process.   Other writers and content providers must go through this as well, and some of them might even realize more daring possibilities than I have so far.

It’s like a personal Information Revolution every time something comes along that assist with the process, watching it take the output in a new direction, showing a new set of possibilities for what can be done with the material.  And even if the work would have been the same regardless of the means of production (the same way NEUROMANCER would have been the same had Gibson used a word process instead of a typewriter), the potential for getting it to a new set of eyes beyond the older channels available cannot be dismissed out of hand.  Going digital for most writers was like Martin Luther being introduced to Johannes Gutenberg; so much potential, so much promise…

One of the discoveries that came out of exposure to these new processes is the ability to dialog.  Which is my invitation to ask you, what have you found that changed your process?  What did you find that made things different for you, changed your game, made you rethink what you were doing?

And if you don’t have anything to offer, hey, I’m perfectly happy to keep the dialog going if you just want to ask any questions about anything.

Except for old I really am…

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Going On The Account: Blogtober – Tooled Up

  1. I’m afraid I’m still looking for that wonderful process that will skyrocket my blog and my books onto some best-seller list. I hope you figure out. Maybe you’ll share your knowledge with the rest of us? 🙂

  2. I wish I had a magic bullet to offer you, I really do, and I wish I could deliver a book that would allow Random House to give all of their employees a $5000 holiday bonus (amazing how many folks wanted to read 50 SHADES, despite everything…).

    To be frank, I think the only difference between writing a mega-bestseller and winning the lottery is that getting a ticket for the former takes a LOT more work. I can speak better on how to more easily do the essentials than I can on closing that deal with Fortuna; hell, I can’t even get her to take my calls on a good day. And three gets you seven that if I ever did figure it out, that method for getting a bestseller would be as easy to replicate as the results of those cold fusion findings from the late 1980s…

    My guess is, when Woody Allen said ninety percent of life is just showing up, he may have been closer to the secret than anyone else…

Leave a Reply

