Going On The Account: This Is The End, My Only Friend, The End…

This is the nineteenth day of Blogtober, where we look back as we look ahead…

Tomorrow night, The New York Review of Science Fiction Reading Series presents a new set of readings by contributors to the anthology After: Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia.  Among the readers expected to be there are Matthew Kressel, N. K. Jemisin, and Genevieve Valentine, sharing stories from the collection of teens making their way after disaster hits.

Which, being held in a neighborhood that lost power for a week in Sandy’s wake when she blew through, seems very apropos…

In honor of the event, I dug up a poem I’d written a few years ago:

ATOMIC LOVE POEM

When I see you for

The first and last time,

Your hair blowing back,

Your smile touching me

The way I want to touch

The curves of your body,

Which are shown off well

In the sudden light

That just fills me up

With intensity;

The warmth that I feel

With you in my sight,

So intense the warmth,

The way it melts glass

And makes the rocks slag,

Vaporizing steel,

Burning the air;

How I long for you

With all of the strength

That flattens buildings,

Turning all structures

Into a thin paste;

How I desire you,

Our parts mingling,

Coming together,

Drawn to the heat,

My lips to your lips,

My hips to your hips,

Carbon to carbon

Drawn into the cloud;

How we dance in love,

Mine in and on you,

Flying overhead,

Dancing on a breeze

Before the wind dies,

And we two coupled,

Poisoning the land

Together for a

Joint half-life as one;

When they remember

Me in memory

Among all the dead,

None of them will know

That in the very

Last second of life

As I was dying

I was truly alive.

*************************************************************

The New York Review of Science Fiction Reading Series

WHEN:

Tuesday, November 20

Doors open at 6:40 — event begins 7-ish  ( Please note slightly later opening time.  Should you arrive any earlier, you will be asked to help set up chairs.)

WHERE:

The SoHo Gallery for Digital Art

138 Sullivan Street  (between Houston & Prince St.)

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=138+Sullivan+St.+New+York+NY+10012

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

