Going On The Account: Double Time On Those Galley Oars!

So I finally have a few moments to get to work on the big project, grabbing what few moments I can between the other obligations out there; hell, it took me two phone calls to finish up to get this sentence finished…

Before I can get started, I run across a few articles about smugglers plying the trade between hostile countries and piracy in that same theater.  And the more I read it, the more I realize I have to finish up the work before someone assumes I’m just cribbing from the news wires instead of working out a plot; it reads like there’s too many damn potential spoilers in these bits about stuff I plotted over a year ago.

*sigh*  I feel like a technothriller writer rushing to get something on paper before the Berlin Wall fell…

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Pirates, Writing

2 responses to “Going On The Account: Double Time On Those Galley Oars!

  1. I know how you feel! About 15 years ago, my husband told me about one of the few dreams he’d had that he actually remembered (unlike me who has too many remembered dreams rambling around in my brain to write about!) Anyway, he thought it would make a great story so he told me all about it and let me get to work. Three hundred & seventy-five pages later, it’s still not finished to my satisfaction, but since I started the project, there have been other stories published and produced that have a similar premise. It is so frustrating, knowing that I (we) had the idea long before these other people but, because I am a terrible procrastinator, I may have lost the freshness that will enable me to get the story published once it’s finished. (sigh) Hope you don’t suffer the same fate!

  2. Hopefully not this time; I did kick myself that I didn’t get a story idea together fast enough before it ended up as an episode of SUPERNATURAL recently, but such is the way of it. Yes, the race really does tend to favor the swift…

Leave a Reply

