Going On The Account: “Reality Leaves A Lot To The Imagination”

I finally got my hands on the reprint of DC’s ELSEWORLDS 80-PAGE GIANT(which they added 20 pages to in order to encourage those of us that missed it the first time).  For all the controversy surrounding the story “Letitia Lerner, Superman’s Babysitter” that caused the original run to be pulped, I found myself more taken aback by the story “Rockumentary” which had the DC Universe seen through the prism of pop music history, with Lex Luthor as a cross between the worst aspects of Clive Davis and Alan Klein running the heroes- I mean, acts into the ground.

In particular, there was this part of the piece (screen grab reprinted from here):

image

 

Y’know, I can get my head around John Lennon saying the Beatles were bigger than Jesus, and take from that what I can.  Having DC compare Clark Kent to John Lennon, though, is going to take a bit more from me…

 

(And no, the quote used in the title wasn’t uttered by Jerry Siegel…)

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

