Going on the Account: Privateering On the Situational Tragedy

Apologies for the radio silence lately; I’ve had a cold, my machine has had Lord-knows-what, and I don’t want to think about what’s making my kitchen floor curl like a third-rate paperback left in a rain puddle…

 

 

So when going through the Web for the latest on the Modern Age of Piracy, I’ve run across more and more items like the one io9 did about Concept Tactical Worldwide, and Dr. Weitz’s piece for the Second Line of Defense website where the issue of the Somali situation has generally been presented by folks who tend to lead up to their punchline with, “So here’s what we’d do…”

 

If like me, you get PO’d by people winding up their stories beginning with, “So I said,” you know where this is going…

 

The best way to look at such articles is in terms of the ultimate application of the whole “market economy” ideal.  And in a truly free, deterministic market economy, such requests and suggestions should ultimately offer a solution that the people discussing the situation have the right to offer.  Whether what we have is a “free, deterministic market economy,” is a subject for which I do not yet have tags on this blog to designate by…

 

What’s truly upsetting is how self-serving some folks have become in the face of the tragedy of a failed state adversely affecting their neighbors.  To sit back and let something go so horribly awry is a level of damnation in and of itself that is topped only by those staying away whispering, “Hey, if you float me some coin I can make it all go away…”

 

No. Thank.  You.

 

I am so disgusted by self-appointed “security experts” offering solutions that involve a sales pitch that I’m willing to forgo my usual optimism for humanity in general, the ability we have as a species to figure it all out in the end.  Such mercenary attitudes makes me want to quote Taylor from the end of Planet of the Apes…

 

There’s a big difference between, “Hey, we see your lawn needs fixing, let us take care of the weeding and mowing,” and “You know, you have a failed state that we can contain  [never fix, only contain, if you read these properly], provided you send us, oh, the GDP of a smaller trading partner every year.”  There are times when the market needs to be ignored and more central concerns should be placed above all.  To misquote the old expression, “He who lives by the coin, dies by the coin…”

 

 

 

 

Forgive the grumpiness; as I said earlier, I, my laptop and the kitchen floor have not been feeling well, making me more likely to spout statements that should be followed up with, “And get off may damn lawn, you kids!”

 

In a better world, I’d have been better prepared to participate in yesterday’s festivities, setting up for something shockingly hilarious.

 

I might also have used the occasion to mention that I might revisit the characters from Raging Gail sooner rather than later.

 

Which is not a gag or joke.

 

As for when, keep an eye open for word from here…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Pirates, Writing

Leave a Reply

