Going on the Account: Careening

Just a reminder that I’m going to be putting the site on hiatus for two weeks beginning tomorrow and picking things up again on the 24th.  During that time, I’m not going to be in a position to moderate posts, respond to queries or (hardest of all to do away with) posting new parts to the story.

Truth to tell, I could use a break.  There are times when, in this over-wired world we live in, we need to take the red pill and wake up from the Matrix, and this is certainly one of them.  I posted pretty regularly for close to a year and a half, and my psyche could use a rest.  Not to mention my poor family, which does not want to be around me as I snarl while crafting new chapters…

So, what’s going to happen while I’m “at sea,” as it were?  I have a few things lined up…

 

* I’m going to catch the well-reviewed Real Pirates traveling exhibition at the Field Museum in Chicago.  This is supposed to be one of the best collections of pirate artifacts ever mounted, which is not coming to New York but will be in a city I’m going to.  Kismet, anyone?

*I’m going to be attending the Fest for Beatles Fans in Chicago, August 14th through 16th.  Yes, I have interests other than pirates…  I’ve been invited to be on the panels covering writing fiction about the Beatles, hosted by the Lovely and Talented Susan, editor of Rooftop Sessions.  Also at the Fest will be Aviva Rothschild, the author of the recently released novel WITH STRINGS ATTACHED and fellow trouble-maker extraordinaire. While the main business will be Beatles-related, well, you know what they say about what happens when you encourage an old salt…

* Afterwards, there’s going to be a side trip to see the Pirates, Privateers and Freeebooters temporary exhibit at the Pointe-A-Calliere Museum in Montreal.  I got word of this through a number of sources (one of which was Ye Pirate Blog) and from the description it might make for an interesting supplemental study with the other exhibit.

 

If you end up in Chicago next week and catch the Fest, I’d love to meet you there.  And if you’re at either museum and spot a man with the jolie rouge of the Raging Gale 

And I promise, when I get back, I’ll post here what I saw at the exhibits and anything that happened that’s worth discussing… be me; stop me and say hi. that’don his t-shirt (you know, the logo on the site),

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Going on the Account: Careening

  1. No wonder I didn’t see anyone on the road; my apologies for the gibberish. All I can state is that I was too busy getting everything together to note the incoherent mess that’s not normally found here, and that I apparently needed the vacation far more desperately than I realized…

Leave a Reply

